Gabriel Garzón-Montano - 'Bishouné: Alma del Huila' - 12" EP (SUS002)


Gabriel Garzón-Montano - 'Bishouné: Alma del Huila' - 12" EP (SUS002)


Introducing singer, composer, multi-instrumentalist and native New Yorker Gabriel Garzón-Montano. Born to a Colombian father and a French mother, Gabriel spent his early years mastering the violin, guitar, and drums, before turning to the piano and bass guitar to better complete his compositions. By the time he graduated from SUNY Purchase’s Music Conservatory, the foundations for his debut EP, Bishouné: Alma del Huila, were already laid.

A heartfelt tribute to the role of family, love, and the City's unavoidable lifestyle, Bishouné: Alma del Huila collects six songs performed and recorded at Henry Hirsch's famed Waterfront Studios. Renovated from an old church, Henry's home provided Gabriel with the right tools and environs needed to realize his demos to the songs included on this EP.

Every clap, breath, harmony, and note was performed by Gabriel direct to 2" tape through a Helios console in real time.  Aside from  dip into Pro Tools to loop the 25 overdubs that build the claps & stomps of "6 8" and drum programming on “Me Alone” and “Pour Maman”, computers had little place in Gabriel's world. Not to imply Bishouné is a product of vintage fetishism; rather, the songs are a humble and urgent bout of self-expression guided by the natural limitations of a solo performer.

Gabriel's compositions revel in such unabashed personhood. "Everything Is Everything" captures the carefree nature of young summers in stark contrast to the inevitable maturity and subservience to life's rat race in "Keep On Running". Those thick grooves give way to slinky, bittersweet ballads and psychotropic-addled burners in "Naeja" and "Me Alone", the latter decorated with tongue-in-cheek lyricism.

"Pour Maman" translates Bobby Elliot's lyrics into a stirring treatise on motherhood, love, and loss.

Bishouné: Alma del Huila is available on limited vinyl and unlimited digital featuring full color artwork designed and meticulously tweaked by Santiago Carrasquilla using video footage and a scanner. A special re-release of Bishouné dropped on November 11, 2014 in CD and digital forms accompanied with remixes by Archie Pelago, Brendon Moeller, Gut Nose, Lord Raja, Patrick Russell, and Baebro. 

12" [33RPM]

Side A:

A1. 6 8 (4:58)
A2. Everything Is Everything (4:13)
A3. Naeja (4:24)

Side B:

B1. Pour Maman (4:53)
B2. Keep On Running (5:24)
B3. Me Alone (5:48)

160g DMM black vinyl in full-color jacket with artwork by Santiago Carrasquilla and layout by Tschiegg.

All vinyl purchases come with a download card that includes remixes by Archie Pelago, Brendon Moeller, Gut Nose, Baebro, Lord Raja and Patrick Russell.
(Album + remixes also available on CD)

Add To Cart